header photo

Antioch Baptist Church

"A new commandment I give to you: love one another," John 13:34

Thought for the Day

Fri 10/19/17 -- The leader's task is to equip saints until they are like Christ, and God waits for him to do his job.

Thr 10/18/17 -- It is not love to expect less of people because we do not want to put them under any pressure to perform.

Wed 10/18/17 -- Proof of authentic faith is not simply a creedal of affirmation but living the life.

Tues 10/17/17 -- Spiritual formation and discipleship are different sides of the same coin, and that coin is sanctification.

Mon 10/16/17 -- Sanctification is a progressive process that does not end until the eternal state.

Fri 10/13/17 -- Because God is holy Christians should be holy, which means we must learn to be different, set

                         apart from the ways of this world and from sin.

Thr 10/12/17 -- We do not live at the cross; we die there.

Wed 10/11/17 -- To see ourselves as forgiven implies that we see the need for God's forgiveness.

Tues 10/10/17 -- Perhaps one reason some do not look forward to Heaven is because they do not really know the One who                                                 is at the center of it all.

Mon 10/9/17 -- Like Jesus, we must not run from the world. We should fully live in it, diving headfirst into what God is                                                    doing.

Fri 10/6/17 -- The desire to be disciplined is one of Grace's greatest gifts.

Thr 10/5/17 -- Grace is the work of God's Spirit in us transforming us into the likeness of Jesus.

Wed 10/4/17 -- Grace gives us the opportunity to learn, the means is submitting to the teaching of Jesus through others.

Tues 10/3/17 -- How are you doing with loving the people God has put in your life?

Mon 10/2/17 -- We are converted and become disciples of Christ to make other disciples of Christ.

Fri 9/29/17 -- Our conversion to Christ is rooted in learning how to repent and change the way we live.

Thrs 9/28/17 -- We are saved to participate in God's plan for the world.

Wed 9/27/17 -- Real faith is not passive but active. Real faith moves people; action is faith's primary property.

Tues 9/26/17 -- Christians are saved by faith alone, but not by faith that is alone.

Mon 9/25/17 -- Faith is only real when it manifests itself in obedience to God and love toward others.

Fri 9/22/17 -- Faith that never does anything is not a saving faith.

Thrs 9/21/17 -- Faith is a force alive and vibrant; it is revealed in action.

Wed 9/20/17 -- We make a living by what we get, but we make a life by what we give.

Tues 9/19/17 -- An eye for an eye makes the whole world blind.

Fri 9/15/17 -- God is true, He is not safe.

Fri 9/8/17 -- What is the best version of the Bible? The one you read!

Thrs 9/7/17 -- No one ever outgrows scripture; the Book widens and deepens with our years.

Wed 9/6/17 -- A new world will arise out of our religious myths when we approach the Bible with the idea that it is not only a book                           which was once spoken but a book which is now speaking.

Tues 9/5/17 -- Lone Rangers and Don Quixotes do not defeat Satan. Troops who have locked arms do.

Fri 8/31/17 -- God has made us for Himself. And our hearts are restless until we find rest in Him.

Wed 8/30/17 -- Jesus has been using love to transform lives for thousands of years. He is quite good at it. Let Him                                     show you, personally.

Tues 8/29/17 -- God's promises are like the stars, the darker the night, the brighter they shine.

Mon 8/28/17 -- God loves each one of us as if there were only one of us.

Fri 8/25/17 -- One of the best ways to hear God's voice is to put yourself in a place where that voice is the only one you can hear.

Thrs 8/24/17 -- Patience is more of a decision than an emotion; it is a foundational part of good character.

Wed 8/23/17 -- You can accomplish amazing things when you turn a deaf ear to the discouraging words of negative thinking naysayers.

Tues 8/22/17-- God provides an abundance of blessings everyday . . . make sure you do not get too busy to enjoy them.

Mon 8/21/17 -- Rest in the knowledge that you cannot go anywhere, even the depths of despair, where God cannot reach.

Fri 8/18/17 -- I know God will not give me anything I can not handle; I just wish He did not trust me so much.

Thrs 8/17/17 -- The world looks dingy and dark when viewed through lenses smudged and smeared with unforgiveness.

Wed 8/16/17 -- Never forget that only dead fish always swim with the stream.

Tues 8/15/17 -- Trust God . . . sounds corny . . . works every time.

Mon 8/14/17 -- A quiet conscience sleeps in thunder.

Thrs 8/11/17 -- God's gifts put man's best dreams to shame.

Wed 8/9/17 -- We are not here to be successful, we are here to be faithful.

Tues 8/8/17 -- Troubles are often the tools by which God fashions us for better things.

Mon 8/7/17 -- No problem is so big that it won't fit in God's hands.

Fri 8/4/17 -- Out of clutter, find simplicity; from discord, find harmony; in the middle of difficulty lies opportunity.

Thrs 8/3/17 -- Real freedom ultimately depends on the leadership of a few ordinary people who do extraordinary things.

Wed 8/2/17 -- Humbling is always the effect of true knowledge.

Tues 8/1/17 --  There are no virtues wherein your example will do more than humility and meekness and self-denial.

Mon 7/31/17 -- The power of the Gospel rides in a chariot that humbles sinners.

Thrs 7/27/17 -- No greater change nor any greater evil could be introduced into society than this: to convert the law into an instrument                           of plunder.

Wed 7/26/17 -- To the degree that sin becomes bitter, grace becomes sweet.

Tues 7/25/17 -- Hunger is a good cook; one who makes the food taste good.

Mon 7/24/17 -- If you plan to build a tall house of virtues, you must first lay deep foundations of humility.

Fri 7/21/17 -- Pride is a spiritual veil blinding us to the truth about ourselves and God.

Thrs 7/20/17 -- One of the first signs of pride is the secret feeling that I am really humble; in fact, more humble than most.

Wed 7/19/17 -- In America 45% say they are born again, but only 9% give any evidence of Christian seriousness by way of                             minimal Biblical knowledge for making life's decisions.

Tues 7/18/17 -- Humility is the root of all virtue.

Mon 7/17/17 -- The trouble when people stop believing in God is not that they after believe in nothing, it is that they after                              believe in anything.

Fri 7/14/17 -- When seeking to serve God do not ask, "What can I do?"; but ask, "What does God want done?"

Thrs 7/13/17 -- Would He who gave His Son not meet your needs?

Tues 7/11/17 -- God would rather die than live without you.

Wed 7/12/17 -- The key to forgiving others is to quit focusing on what they did to you and start focusing on what God did for you.

Mon 7/10/17 -- Nothing silences grumps like gratitude.

Fri 7/7/17 -- Gratitude is a dialyses of sorts, it flushes the pity out of our system.

Thrs 7/6/17 -- Healing happens when the wound is exposed to the atmosphere of grace.

Wed 7/5/17 -- Guilt alerts us to the discrepancies between what we are and what God desires us to be.

Tues 7/4/17 -- One nation under God. The continuance of God's grace does not need every person in this country; it needs                             those who know Christ to follow the direction of II Chronicles 7:14. We will then be                                                                                                        One Nation Under God AGAIN.

Mon 7/3/17 -- Wheel chairs, ointments, treatments and bandages are confiscated at the gateway to Heaven.                                                     God's children will once again be whole.

Fri 6/30/17 -- God will turn your tomb into a womb out of which you will be born with a perfect body into a perfect world.

Thrs 6/29/17 -- Jesus will heal you ... instantly ... or gradually ... or ultimately.

Wed 6/28/17 -- God keeps His word, I just need to ask.

Tues 6/27/17 -- An unprayed for problem is an embedded thorn, it festers and infects.

Mon 6/26/17 -- How many disasters would be averted if we would go first in faith to Jesus?

Fri 6/23/17 -- If God were only mighty, we would salute Him; but since He is merciful and mighty, we can approach Him.

Thrs 6/22/17 -- In our desire to understand God, we have sought to contain Him.

Wed 6/21/17 -- In an effort to see God as our friend, we have lost His immensity.

Tues 6/20/17 -- If the power of prayer depends on the one who hears the prayer and the one who hears the prayer is my                              "Daddy", then have hope.

Mon 6/1917 -- Just as a happy child cannot miss-hug, the sincere heart cannot miss-pray.

Fri 6/16/17 -- Prayer begins with an honest, heart-felt, "Oh, Daddy."

Thrs 6/15/17 -- Prayer is the hand of faith on the door handle of your heart.

Wed 6/14/17 -- Prayer can be the internal voice that directs the external action.

Tues 6/13/17 -- Sorrow comes from treating sin lightly; change comes from taking sin seriously.

Mon 6/12/17 -- Success is hard work but failure is hard also and lasts longer.

Fri 6/9/17 -- Some debts are fun when you are acquiring them but none are fun when you set about retiring them.

Thrs 6/8/17 -- The chains of habit are too light to be felt until they are too heavy to be broken.

Wed 6/7/17 -- The difference between a wilderness and culture is simply work.

Tues 6/6/17 -- Growth in the Christian life begins with obedience even when acute desire is not present.

Mon 6/5/17 --  The Gospel of Christ is a call to counter-cultural crucifixion; death to self in the face of earthly opposition                             for the sake of eternal reward.

Fri 6/2/17 -- Let us not merely contemplate the Word of God in the world around us; let us do what it says.

Thrs 6/1/17 -- We can expect the future to be a further disaster if the evangelical world does not take a stand for Biblical                            truth and morality in the full spectrum of life.

Wed 5/31/17 -- Eternity is at stake in how you and I respond to Jesus.

Tues 5/30/17 -- We should not ask why God finds it difficult to forgive sins, but how He finds it possible.

Mon 5/29/17 -- In all our running to serve ourselves we are actually rebelling against the only One who can satisfy our                               souls.

Fri 5/26/17 -- Repentance is the living fruit of redemption.

Thrs 5/25/17 -- Repent and believe is the living, growing, ever-renewing lifestyle of the Spirit led believer.

Wed 5/24/17 -- The on-going response of a Christian to the Gospel is a steady stream of on-going repentance.

Tues 5/23/17 -- The Lord takes what is brittle and broken and beyond all hope and infuses His own life into dead spaces.

Mon 5/22/17 -- The High Surgeon of Heaven longs to perform the corrective procedure on your heart that can ultimately                             set you free.

Fri 5/19/17 --  The things we do for God are not to buy our way 'inside' but to celebrate our being 'inside.'

Thrs 5/18/17 --  There are no balance scales in God's Kingdom.

Wed 5/17 17 -- In order for good news to be good it must invade bad spaces; so it is with the Gospel.

Tues 5/16/17 -- Fear and doubt are conquered by a faith that rejoices.

Mon 5/15/17 -- The answer to Moses' persistent pattern of "I can't" was not "yes, Moses, you can" but I CAN I WILL I AM.

Fri 5/12/17 -- No mist is so thick that the sunlight of appreciation cannot burn it away.

Thrs 5/11/17 -- God has no obligation to show you what is next until you are faithful in what is now.

Wed 5/10/17 -- Friends are not found, they are built.

Tues 5/9/17 -- The task of tail-kickers is to afflict the comfortable.

Mon 5/8/17 -- True friends stab you in the front.

Fri 5/5/17 -- No one can develop freely in this world and find a full life without feeling understood by at least one person.

Thrs 5/4/17 -- One way we grow in holiness is to be around people more holy than ourselves.

Wed 5/3/17 -- If we let insecurities drive us away from tough circumstances, we will never grow.

Tues 5/2/17 -- The best way to grow is to be the smallest person in the room.

Mon 5/1/17 -- What we all need is someone who will give us a vision for who we can be, far beyond anything we ever                              imagined.

Fri 4/28/17 -- Do I have someone in my life who "strengthens my hand in God"?

Thrs 4/27/17 -- Hope inevitably fades without supportive relationships to help it thrive.

Wed 4/26/17 -- The easier our lives are the weaker our spiritual muscles will become.

Tue 4/25/17 -- A stres-free life is not an option. Not having stress means you are dead.

Mon 4/24/17 -- We need each other if we are to find hope. You need someone and someone needs you.

Fri 4/21/17 -- God created you for service. He called you to service. He will reward you for service. You are indispensable to                           service.

Thrs 4/20/17 -- The greatest excitement any of us will ever know is when we get in the game and use our gifts to team up                              with God to do something remarkable in the world.

Wed 4/19/17 -- When we use our gifts, we build joy and grace into our lives.

Tue 4/18/17 -- decide, discover, develop, deploy --- These four steps will lead you to some of the most exciting places                               imaginable. The spark to taking these four steps is the belief that God has gifted you.

Mon 4/17/17 -- You develop your gifts by using your gifts. Keep exploring and using the gifts you discover.

Fri 4/14/17 -- You cannot steer a parked car. You have to be moving. If you are moving, God can steer you.

Thrs 4/13/17 -- You will never possess what you are unwilling to pursue.

Wed 4/12/17 - God wants to get to work through the gifts He has entrusted to you.

Tue 4/11/17 -- We are motivated and encouraged when we are doing what we are supposed to be doing.

Mon 4/10/17 -- When you get a grip on the fact that you are called and gifted by God, it changes how you view yourself and                              frees you from insecurity and inferiority.

Fri 4/7/17 -- The Bible is crystal clear: every person matters, every gift God gave you matters, and each person's gift is                         equally important.

Thrs 4/6/17 -- The second we take our gifts and put them into service, wham! God shows up and works as only He can.

Wed 4/5/17 -- Discovering and deploying your God-givengifts is the key to identifying your purpose in life and maximizing                           your potential.

Tue 4/4/17 -- Asking what things can become gives you hope and a future.

Mon 4/3/17 -- Asking "What can this become?" accelerates you to the kind of fresh vision that fuels forward motion.

Fri 3/31/17  --   Do not give first-class allegiance to second-class causes.

Thrs 3/30/17 -- Why become something timid and pale when you can become something alive and vibrant?

Wed 3/29/17 -- Why insult God by dreaming up really small plans?

Tues 3/28/17 -- All of us need to hang around individuals who believe we can become far more than we ourselves think is                              possible.

Mon 3/27/17 -- Passion, hope, and momentum all return when people begin asking, "Regardless of what I see now --- what                             can this become?"

Friday 3/24/17 -- Fresh vision leads to encouragement. Encouragement leads to hope. Hope leads to change. Change                                leads to better days ahead.

Thursday 3/23/17 -- "What can this become?" is the only question that leads a person to catch fresh vision. The benefits of                                       asking this question are limitless.

Wednesday 3/22/17 -- The road away from destructive directions always starts by getting someone liberated from what                                           they are like right now.

Tuesday -- 3/21/17 -- When we focus on what something can become, we come alive.

Monday -- 3/20/17 --  Everything changes when we ask the question, "Am I able to see things, not as they are right now, but i                                       in terms of what they can become.

Friday 3/17/17 -- The minute Christians begin to focus on what their relationship with God could become, anything is                             possible.

Thursday 3/16/17 -- Jesus was not focused on what people were like. He was focused on what they could become.

Wednesday 3/15/17 -- No one ever goes forward well when they are looking back.

Tuesday -- 3/14/17 -- Beware of spending too much time looking back at what you once were when God wants you to                                                 become something you have never been.

Monday -- 3/13/17 --  Fear is the darkroom where negatives develop.

Thursday -- 3/9/17 --  The people thought Goliath was too big to beat. David thought he was too big to miss.

Wednesday 3/8/17 -- Start believing impossible things are possible because you are going to get what you expect.

Tuesday --- 3/7/17 ---  The church is going to be dead and lifeless until we start believing impossible things are possible.

Monday --- 3/6/17  ---  Expectations matter . . . you get what you expect.